Kale Chips: Not Meh

The highlight of my Sunday morning is reading the “Meh List” in the New York Times magazine.  The meh list is a weekly compilation of things, people and places that are neither here nor there–just so so. I have been trying to come up with an item I can submit and on my list of possibilities was kale chips. Well I recently made them and and as it turns out not only are they not “meh” they have some sort of mystical quality. They were so good that I barely remember eating them!

Ingredients:

  • One bunch kale leaves, chopped
  • Juice of one lemon
  • Olive oil
  • Red Pepper
  • Salt

Steps:

  • Preheat oven to 300
  • The best way to get crisp kale chips is to make sure they are completely dry. After I ran the kale pieces through a salad spinner I laid them out on a kitchen towel and rolled them up.

  • Combine all ingredients, except salt, in a plastic bag and shake.
  • Lay across a baking sheet lined with parchment paper in a single layer. Sprinkle with salt.

  • Bake until crisp @ 20-25 minutes.

Kale “croutons” in sweet potato soup

10 thoughts on “Kale Chips: Not Meh

  1. I love kale chips and they’re so expensive at Whole Foods. I grow a wonderful wild Kale variety in my garden that produces for about six months each year. It will be a great way to use some of it. Thanks, Julie! Hugs, Cathy

    • How wonderful to grow so much kale! If you make a lot of these make sure they are totally dry before you store them–I think next time I will leave them in the oven over night with the heat turned off. Lots of love-Julie

  2. I made my first batch of kale chips a couple of weeks ago. They turned out great, but I found they didn’t keep well. They became soft and limp overnight. Any storage suggestions other than the oven overnight??

Leave a Reply

