Stuffed Acorn Squash

I had so much fun making this recipe. I picked the apple from our tree, the nuts came from the local farmer’s market and the squash from our weekly farm box. After I devoured it I threw the shell in the compost pile in our backyard. 

I’m sure it was extra yummy due to the freshness, but this is also a tasty, healthy “pantry recipe”. You can easily keep these ingredients on hand to throw together at the last minute. Squash lasts for months on the counter and I suggest keeping nuts in the freezer. Dried fruit may also be used.

Ingredients:

Our Apple Tree

  • Acorn Squash, cut in half and seeds removed
  • Nuts, chopped  (I used a mixture of pistachios, walnuts and chestnuts)
  • Apple, peeled and chopped
  • Cinnamon
  • Coconut oil
  • Salt, to taste

Steps:

 

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Mix nuts, apple, and cinnamon
  • Divide mixture and place in cavities of squash halves
  • Top with dabs of coconut oil and shake of salt
  • Cover and bake @ 40 minutes or until cooked through

Back to Mother Earth!

 

6 thoughts on “Stuffed Acorn Squash

  1. How lucky you are to have your own apple tree! I didn’t realized that squash could hold that long. It looks so good that I will give it a try. Love, Mom P.S. I will call you soon.

    cookingintuitive wrote: > WordPress.com > Julie Hansen Intuitive posted: “I had so much fun making this recipe. > I picked the apple from our tree, the nuts came from the local > farmer’s market and the squash from our weekly farm box. After I > devoured it I threw the shell in the compost pile in our backyard. I’m > sure it was e” >

Leave a Reply

