Energy Bites: Raw Paleo Nut Balls

I love the idea of energy bites: mini meals that pack a punch.

I got the idea to make these from the peanut butter candy my Mom made for my sister and I when we were kids. She would mix peanut butter, evaporated milk and honey. My sister and I shaped the “dough” into little sculptures then ate our creations.

I love almond butter and I used almond flour instead of evaporated milk to make it dairy free. Then I added all sorts of goodies. Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup dried cherries, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon
  • Honey to taste

Steps:

  • Combine almond butter, almond flour and chia seeds. Mix with hands.
  • Combine rest of ingredients.

  • Roll into balls and store in fridge.

Go nuts!-Julie

7 thoughts on “Energy Bites: Raw Paleo Nut Balls

  1. Wow! Does that ever look yummy! I can’t wait to make it. I love the idea of using almond flour instead of dried milk. What are chia seeds? Would Trader Joe carry them or are they only sold in health food stores? I have everything on hand but that. What a great pick-up when I’m on the run. You are so creative! Love, Mom

    cookingintuitive wrote: > WordPress.com > Julie Hansen Intuitive posted: “I love the idea of energy bites: mini > meals that pack a punch. I got the idea to make these from the peanut > butter candy my Mom made for my sister and I when we were kids. She > would mix peanut butter, evaporated milk and honey. My sister and I > shaped t” >

    • Hi Mom–Thank you for your comment on my recipe! Chia seeds are extremely healthy–very high in fiber, antioxidants and Omega-3’s. I think you can get them at Trader Joes. You can also add more almond flour. Let me know how it goes! Love-Julie

Leave a Reply

