Farmer’s Market Breakfast

I had a great trip to the farmer’s market yesterday with my daughter (she was in it for the sorbet). I got a squash I have never seen before and didn’t write down the name (pictured below). If you know what it is, please let me know! It tastes like a cross between a sweet potato and a pumpkin. I also got a wonderful fruit and nut mix. The best part was the dried fruit had no additives, sulfates or sugar.

Breakfast can be a challenge on a restricted diet and I was looking for a different way to incorporate vegetables in the morning. I came up with this recipe and was very pleased with the results. You can substitute with any squash you have: acorn, butternut or pumpkin. A sweet potato would work nicely as well.

Unidentified Squash.

Ingredients:

  • Bright orange squash
  • Almond milk
  • Nuts and dried fruit
  • Cinnamon

Steps:

  1. Cut squash in quarters and bake uncovered in pan with a bit of water until you can slide a fork in (I did 450 for 30 minutes)
  2. Scrape out insides and refrigerate if not eating right away
  3. Place about a cup of squash in a bowl and microwave for 1-2 minutes (if cold)
  4. Add almond milk, stir, and heat another minute
  5. Top with nuts, fruit and cinnamon

This recipe can also be done on a stove.  Enjoy!-Julie

9 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market Breakfast

  1. Hi Julie– I don’t know what that squash is, but it’s a beauty! I love the idea of a nut mix for breakfast. Love, Mom

    cookingintuitive wrote: > WordPress.com > Julie Hansen Intuitive posted: “I had a great trip to the farmer’s > market yesterday with my daughter (she was in it for the sorbet). I > got a squash I have never seen before and didn’t write down the name > (pictured below). If you know what it is, please let me know! It > tastes like a cros” >

  2. Pingback: Farmers Market Morning « I Miss Me, Too

Leave a Reply

