How I’m Using My Farm Box This Week

Here is what is cooking (or not cooking) at my house this week from my farm box ingredients:

  • Arugula: I am using the arugula for small salads every night and to garnish sandwiches. I also made a big dinner salad one night with arugula, strips of fajita beef and sugar snap peas from last week.
  • Strawberries: Delicious for desert!
  • Carrots:  I am adding carrot strips to salads and snacking on them in the car.
  • Peaches: So good as is and we may put them on the grill for a family barbeque.
  • Green Beans: These are perfect plain and I will make a simple dinner out them cooking them briefly with olive oil/salt and serving them over brown rice.
  • Zucchini: I will likely make my Zucchini Lasagna again or throw them on the grill (slice and brush on olive oil and spices). I also like to roast zucchini and have it for breakfast.
  • Red Onions: I am going to save these for next week when we start getting tomatoes so I can make a sauce.
  • Bunched Red Beets: I roasted these beets and have been adding them to salad. They are also very good for breakfast. I got strawberries in bulk last week from our farm and froze them. The frozen strawberries and beet greens with some almond milk and banana make a delicious smoothie.
  • Cherries: As is!
  • Apricots: As is!

I hope this post helps you with your farm box or in making a decision in subscribing to a Community Supported Agriculture program.

Best wishes from cookingintuitive!

9 thoughts on “How I’m Using My Farm Box This Week

  1. This is so Cool Julie! Carol Just told me you were doing this, and I had to check it out. I just started getting the Terra Firma small box, and Carol and I have been joking about what a Veggie n00b I am, since I killed my carrots last week! I think I haven’t killed the ones from this week yet 🙂

  2. Do you have suggestions on how to locate a farm box program? I would love to participate in one of these, but not sure how to find them. Any ideas? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

